Uncategorized

Mini Reviews #1 [Indie Authors]

I was going to do a wrap up, but I’ve been reading rather oddly. I just thought it would be a good idea to share some of the indie books I’ve read recently. These are all books I got from a Facebook group called Young Adult Book Stop. It’s a great place to support indie authors if you enjoy YA. Here’s the link if you want to join.

I’m very grateful to all of the authors for sending me copies. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Just the typical disclaimer.

I like the premise of the story. I like the characters. So I do like this book, but I did have some issues with it. 

Eden is attending Shadow Academy as a witch but she has no powers. This means her parents have disowned her and she can be punished if the school finds out. Eden has to keep this big secret while other people who aren’t supernatural are being taken away for lying about who they are. She makes friends with a werewolf named Cress and kinda starts a romance with Liam, the principals son.

It’s got a decent foundation. I just thought the world building could have been better and the storyline better developed. I wanted to know more about the supernatural community, not just an explanation of the war and a big reveal related to the war. I wanted more in-depth details and hierarchical structure of the community at the academy. With the storyline, I wanted deeper relationships. Everything felt surface level and a little rushed. Especially when Eden meets her grandmother.

I’m super curious what’s going to happen next because of the major cliffhanger at the end of the book. I’ll probably be picking up the next book for resolution.

I could not put this down, it’s so unique. The world building is fabulous. I spent a few late nights reading this because I had to know how the story was going to progress. I can’t wait for more of Kalleah and her powers, along with her queen life.

For fans of Hex Hall and Vampire Academy.

This is such an awesome book. I enjoyed the storyline of witch and vampire hybrid going on. Katrina is a rare witch type and a powerful vampire descendant who’s sent to the vampire academy to train. The hierarchy of the school is interesting and easy to follow. I’m also invested in the darkness the vampires want to bring back. I think Katrina will be interesting since she’s light and dark, so I’m eagerly waiting to see which side she embraces. Either way, it will be worth the read. I’m also hoping for a romance to bloom. Definitely ready for the next one, coming in February.

This is a cool start to a series. The characters are well written, and the story is well paced. I couldn’t stop reading once I started. Mermaids are fab to read about, and I’m looking forward to a deep dive into the whole series. I have a strong feeling I’ll enjoy it highly. Definitely suggest to anyone who enjoys fantasy or wants a strong intro to a new series.


I enjoy reading indie authors, and I’m a sucker for anything academy books. I could read those all day long. But I’m trying to cut down on my eARCs so I’ll probably be requesting less of these unless they really catch my attention. So I’ll probably be still wanting to read a lot of academy books. I’m trying to get my reading to be a lot calmer, where I’m less stressed. I want to just stop the weight of the ARCs I have and enjoy my blog more. I hope you all will still enjoy if I’m not always doing new books.

Do you have any plans for the new year? And were these reviews mini enough?

Find me at:
error20
fb-share-icon0
Tweet 1k

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial