Book Reviews, NetGalley

The Secret Sister by M.M. DeLuca Book Review

Some secrets won’t stay buried…

There are things I want to tell my husband, Guy, about my past. I want to tell him how I bounced from foster home to foster home. I want to tell him that living with him is the first time I’ve ever felt safe and loved. Most of all, I want to tell him about my little sister, who vanished a few years ago.

But even though I can’t stop thinking about her, about everything that happened leading up to her disappearance, I can’t tell him about her. Not yet.

Because I don’t know if I can trust Guy – I’m not the only one in this marriage with a past and a complicated family. And I don’t know if I can trust myself – people keep questioning my memories of the past, and I have to wonder whether I’m losing my mind.

As I search for answers, only one thing is clear. When all of our secrets are on the table, the truth will burn through our lives and our families, leaving some of us in ashes.

A completely addictive novel about what people hide behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of Megan Miranda and Shari Lapena.

REVIEW:

3.5 Stars

This is the story of Anna who has found happiness with Guy. But she has a lot of issues in her past. Her twin sister has been gone for a long time, and she still has problems dealing with this. They did not have a good childhood, and some parts of learning about this can be a little hard to deal with. 

The back goes back and forth between past and present to give you the story of how eveyrthing is connected. It was easy to follow and made sense. I did like this part. 

I had a hard time with Anna holding onto the past so much. She seems like she wants to get better, but she is so hard on herself. Also, I do not get why the agency meant to help her was so bad. I guess it was for the story, but I do not think her experience is true for all people.

Overall, a decent read. It kept me invested, but I was not blown away. I found it easy to finish, but it was not my favorite. I do like the writing, and I would read another from this author. 

Thank you NetGalley and Canelo for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Share and Enjoy !

0Shares
0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *