Book Reviews, NetGalley

Just Last Night Book Review

International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Lives of Lydia Bird, or In Five Years.

Eve, Justin, Susie, and Ed have been friends since they were teenagers. Now in their thirties, the four are as close as ever, Thursday night bar trivia is sacred, and Eve is still secretly in love with Ed. Maybe she should have moved on by now, but she can’t stop thinking about what could have been. And she knows Ed still thinks about it, too.

But then, in an instant, their lives are changed forever.

In the aftermath, Eve’s world is upended. As stunning secrets are revealed, she begins to wonder if she really knew her friends as well as she thought. And when someone from the past comes back into her life, Eve’s future veers in a surprising new direction…

They say every love story starts with a single moment. What if it was just last night?

Review

This is my second McFarlane book, and I really liked the first one. I was nervous about this because it said to deal with grief and sometimes those books can be a lot for me. However, I am glad I took the time to read this book and see how the story played out.

A longtime set of friends are now adults. Eve has been in love with Ed for a long time, but it is a secret. When Susie is killed in a car accident, they find years of secrets make life more complex for them than they could have ever anticipated. This is about how Eve and Ed have to deal with the aftermath. And Susie has a brother who shows up, and he grows closer with Eve. They have to take a trip to find the dad because he is ill and does not remember many people. The trip and after shows Eve she may not really have known her best friend at all, and she is not sure how to deal with it. Nor how does she deal with all of her emotions about Ed and Fin. It is a heavy book with a nice ending though.

Despite how tough the world has been, this book is full of light and happiness. I was able to really sit down and enjoy this book because it contains layers and a lot of heartfelt moments. McFarlane has a way with words and this is a book which will stay with you for a long time after.

Thank you NetGalley and The publisher for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Share and Enjoy !

0Shares
0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *